stories unfolding...

502 1 Street South
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada, Toll Free: 1.866.320.3898


The Galt is well respected in Alberta's museum community, has a growing national profile and is committed to international museum standards. We host several of our award winning programs every week for kids, adults and seniors. We hold free museum community days regularly throughout the year, and put on some of the best fundraising events in Lethbridge including our famous Beer Tasting each September.

Our archives contain an extensive collection of information on the human history of Lethbridge and southwestern Alberta. Today, the museum cares for well over 17,000 artifacts and more than 1 million archival documents and photographs. These collections continue to grow.

The history of Lethbridge and southwestern Alberta can be explored through the Galt's rotating world-class exhibits, special events, and school and community programs. The Galt Museum Store offers visitors a selection of historic publications and other unique local and retro gifts. Volunteers donate their time and talents to enhance the work of museum staff.


Galt Museum & Archives Events

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu DEC 12 | 7–8:30 pm

Holiday Cards

Sat DEC 14 | 1–2 pm

Wonders of Southern Alberta

NOV 4 – JAN 24

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu DEC 19 | 7–8:30 pm

Party Crackers

Sat DEC 21 | 1–2 pm

Paint Stick Buddies

Tue DEC 31 | 1–3 pm

Magical Harry Potter Crafts

Mon JAN 02 | 1–3 pm

Mini Tepee Art

Fri JAN 03 | 1–3 pm

Painted Paper Plates

Sat JAN 04 | 1–3 pm

Friendship Bracelets

Sun Jan 05 | 1–3 pm

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu JAN 09 | 7–8:30 pm

Creative Bags

Sat Jan 11 | 1–2 pm

Lethbridge History Trivia

Wed Jan 15 | 2–3 pm

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu JAN 16 | 7–8:30 pm

Sock Penguins

Sat Jan 18 | 1–2 pm

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu JAN 23 | 7–8:30 pm

Indigenous History

Sat Jan 25 | 10:30–11:30 am

Métis Flower Paintings

Sat Jan 25 | 1–2 pm

A Painter’s Paradise

Sun Jan 26 | 2–3 pm

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Jan 30 | 7–8:30 pm

Acrylic Landscapes

Thu Jan 30 | 7–9 pm

Peacekeeper Dolls

Sat Feb 01 | 1–2 pm

Bookmarks

Wed Feb 05 | 10:30–11:30 am

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Feb 06 | 7–8:30 pm

Needle Felted Hearts

Thu Feb 06 | 7–9 pm

Soil & Sand

Fri Feb 07 | 1–2 pm

Make Valentines

Sat Feb 08 | 1–2 pm

Archival Valentines

Wed Feb 12 | 10:30–11:30 am

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Feb 13 | 7–8:30 pm

From Opportunity to Internment

Thu Feb 13 | 7–8 pm

Blackfoot Bingo

Sat Feb 15 | 1–2 pm

Family Day Brunch

Mon Feb 17 | 10–1 pm

Pisko Paintings

Wed Feb 19 | 10:30–11:30 am

We’ll Meet Again

Wed Feb 19 | 7–8:30 pm

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Feb 20 | 7–8:30 pm

Landscape Painting

Sat Feb 22 | 1–2 pm

Mountain Art

Wed Feb 26 | 10:30–11:30 am

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Feb 27 | 7–8:30 pm

Indigenous History

Sat Feb 29 | 10:30–11:30 am

Groovy Art

Sat Feb 29 | 1–2 pm

Love & Peace

Wed Mar 04 | 10:30–11:30 am

Songs of War, Peace & Protest

Wed Mar 04 | 2–3 pm

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Mar 05 | 7–8:30 pm

Decorative Letters

Fri Mar 06 | 1–2 pm

Métis Tepees

Sat Mar 07 | 1–2 pm

Friends Winter Barn Dance

Sat Mar 07 | 7–11 pm

St. Patrick’s Pins

Wed Mar 11 | 10:30–11:30 am

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Mar 12 | 7–8:30 pm

Bristle Bots

Sat Mar 14 | 1–2 pm

Liberalism

Sun Mar 15 | 2–4 pm

Creative Lanterns

Wed Mar 18 | 10:30–11:30 am

Painting the Mounties Red

Wed Mar 18 | 2–3 pm

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Mar 19 | 7–8:30 pm

Weather Wonders

Sat Mar 21 | 1–2 pm

Crafty Circuits

Wed Mar 25 | 10:30–11:30 am

Blackfoot Language Class

Thu Mar 26 | 7–8:30 pm

Macrame Owls

Thu Mar 26 | 7–9 pm

Indigenous History

Sat Mar 28 | 10:30–11:30 am

Light It Up

Sat Mar 28 | 1–2 pm

Suncatchers

Wed Apr 01 | 10:30–11:30 am

Art Care and Conservation

Wed Apr 01 | 2–3 pm

Tiny Treasure Boxes

Fri Apr 03 | 1–2 pm

Spring Rocks

Sat Apr 04 | 1–2 pm

Hello, Spring

Wed Apr 08 | 10:30–11:30 am

Eggstravaganza

Sat Apr 11 | 10–2 pm

Coulees and Culture

Apr 14–17

Shadow Catcher

Wed Apr 15 | 2–3 pm

Let’s “Coal-laborate”

Sat Apr 18 | 1–2 pm

Felted Vessel

Thu Apr 23 | 7–9 pm

Indigenous History

Sat Apr 25 | 10:30–11:30 am

Winter Counts

Sat Apr 25 | 1–2 pm

Ranching Under the Arch

Thu Apr 30 | 7–9 pm

Southern Alberta Heritage Fair

Sat May 02 | 10–4 pm

Taste of Downtown

Wed May 13 | 5–8:30 pm